SPE Aberdeen names award winners for 2016-17 session

More than 55 members of the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) Aberdeen came together last night (Tuesday September 5) to celebrate the achievements of individuals within the Section.

The awards ceremony took place during Offshore Europe week, on Tuesday 5 September at the Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre. SPE International President Janeen Judah presented a host of North Sea Regional and SPE Aberdeen awards to those who have shown commitment to enhancing SPE activities over the last 12 months.

A highlight of the night was a commendation given to Colin Black, one of SPE Aberdeen's directors, who is set to receive the SPE International Outstanding Service Award at the organisation's Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition (ATCE) in San Antonio, Texas on 9-11 October, 2017.

In recent years, Colin has been instrumental in embedding the global Energy4Me programme into the Scottish education curriculum. Energy4Me aims to promote STEM subjects and educate the oil and gas industry's next generation of aspiring engineers, scientists and managers. He also played a major role in bringing the highly successful ‘NASA in Aberdeen' initiative to the city this year, as well as securing it for the next three years.

Further winners on the night included:

 SPE Aberdeen Section Awards

•             Chris Stewart (Expro Group plc), services to the Young Professionals Committee

•             Ritika Pawar (Intertek Group plc), services to the Student Development Committee

•             Sylvester Ogfoba (Baker Hughes, a GE company), services to the Student Development Committee

•             Kenny McAllister (Seal-Tite UK, LLC), services to the Programme Committee

•             Mearns & Gill, long term service to the SPE Aberdeen Section

•             Diane Wood (SPE Aberdeen Section Manager), long term service to the SPE Aberdeen Section

•             Heriot Watt University, SPE Aberdeen Student Chapter Award (with University of Dundee highly commended)

 SPE Regional Awards

•             Steve Cromar (formerly ConocoPhillips, now retired), Regional Service Award for services to the SPE Aberdeen Section

•             Richard Cooper (TauRx Therapeutics Ltd), Regional Young Member Outstanding Service Award

•             Neil Armstrong (Merlin ERD Ltd), Drilling Engineering award

•             Professor Eric Mackay (Heriot Watt University, Institute of Petroleum Engineering), Production and Operations Award

 Ian Phillips, SPE Aberdeen Chairman said: “Our board, volunteers and contractors are the driving force behind the Aberdeen Section, as well as many regional and global programmes, and they deserve great recognition for their efforts.

“The SPE Aberdeen Section has grown to become one of the most successful in the world, and for our volunteers to run our busy annual programme in tandem with their day jobs demonstrates just how committed they are.

“This evening has been a superb celebration of these efforts, and we are very proud to see many of our members recognised both locally and globally.”

 Photo caption 1: The winners of the SPE Aberdeen Section awards

Photo caption 2: Ian Phillips, SPE Aberdeen Chairman

More photos are available upon request.


 Notes to Editors

About SPE International

The Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) is a not-for-profit professional association whose members are engaged in energy resources development and production. SPE serves more than 164,000 members (73,000 of whom are students) in 143 countries worldwide. SPE is a key resource for technical knowledge related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry and provides services through its publications, events, training courses, and online resources at 

About SPE Aberdeen

The Aberdeen Section is one of the largest of the SPE Sections across the world and in 2017 we won the President's Award for Excellence for the 7th year in a row – the only section to do so ever. The section has over 3000 members ranging from drilling and completions engineers to production and operations specialists, HSE practitioners, and other professionals. The membership includes over 450 student members from five student chapters: Heriot Watt University, University of Strathclyde, University of Dundee, Robert Gordon University and University of Aberdeen.

SPE Aberdeen works closely with the oil and gas industry, Scottish universities and local schools, institutes and academia, to advance the learning and technical excellence in all aspects of the industry, offshore, onshore and internationally.

Visit source site

SPEAberdeenOffshore Europe 2017awards

More items from lynsey

N-Sea Reinforces UXO Expertise with ScottishPower Renewables Campaign

UK and Netherlands-based subsea provider N-Sea is part-way through a multi-million-pound unexploded ordnance (UXO) clearance campaign for ScottishPower Renewables. The contract for unexploded ordnance (UXO) clearance works commenced in December 2017 and includes UXO inspection, identification and ...

Jenny Adams

Posted 2 days agoPress

European Forum to Shine a Spotlight on Importance of Sand Management

Sand management is one of the biggest challenges facing oil and gas assets worldwide, affecting production, damaging equipment, causing failure and costing producers billions of dollars per year.  Recent hydrocarbon discoveries in deep water regions with high pressure and weak to moderate strength ...

Jenny Adams

Posted 2 days agoPress > Aberdeen

Bibby Offshore Scores Contract Hat-Trick With Supermajor

Bibby Offshore, a leading subsea services provider to the oil and gas industry, has announced three individual multimillion pound contract wins with an oil and gas supermajor. The initial contract will see Bibby Offshore complete riser replacement works including a production/test riser and riser ...

Jenny Adams

Posted 3 days agoPress

AgileTek Expands Range of Services with Launch of New Division

Award-winning subsea engineering analysis consultancy, AgileTek, has announced the launch of AgileDat, a new business division focused on using data to make decisions in the energy sector. Revealed today {Tuesday March 13} at Oceanology International in London, AgileDat has been developed to servi ...

Jenny Adams

Posted 4 days agoPress

iSURVEY Makes Training Splash

iSURVEY, a leading provider of survey and positioning services to the global oil and gas, offshore renewables and telecommunications markets, has invested more than £40,000 in staff training. In order to meet client demand, iSURVEY staff were educated in rapid and accurate acquisition and processi ...

Jenny Adams

Posted 10 days agoPress
All posts from lynsey